Self Soothing

Ever felt so terrible you didn’t know how to sooth yourself to make yourself feel better? Whether it be guilt, anxiety, etc…I have found that self soothing can been very helpful. It’s something I learned in DBT (Dialectal Behavioural Therapy).Here are some ways I self sooth with my five senses and maybe they can help you or pave a path for you to think of ways to help yourself.

 

SIght: art, READING, ocean, fire, mountains, rain, Charlie (my puppy), humour

Sound: rain, motorcycles, MUSIC, silence, coffee maker

Taste: COFFEE, sour candy, beer, wine, hummus, tea

Touch: massage, cuddling Charlie, blankets, warm showers/baths, holding hands, kissing, getting nails done

Smell: dessert foods, new books, leather, clean laundry, coffee, vanilla, lavender, tea tree oil

 

My puppy Charlie who always helps me self sooth…whether it be just petting him, brushing him, playing catch with him.

Image

One thought on “Self Soothing

Add yours

  1. hi,I think that have things like pets help peolple to think better and help to live with love and attention.
    all the tings in the life can change if we really want,nothing is impossible,we can produce the changes,just want to do that.
    if aour body is thin or fat,never mind,the most important is our soul.our quality like persons. we nees to give value to important things,the out part of our body is just a box,but our spirit is a holly thing and we need to take care about it!!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑